Regular Board Meeting Summary - March 2022

Regular Board Meeting Summary - March 2022
Posted on 03/24/2022

The HPSD Board of Trustees met in person on Tuesday, March 15, 2022, for their regularly scheduled board meeting. The agenda and consent agenda were approved, with additions to the regular agenda.


Trustees discussed the Public School Boards' Association awards nominations. Trustee Lynn Skrepnek has been nominated for an award for her years of service to public education as a school board trustee.


The next item the Board reviewed was a proposed position statement from Peace River School Division to request the "Alberta School Boards' Association (ASBA) to advocate to Alberta Education to be aware of new and changing legislation and to ensure that these changes or new legislations do not put unforeseen challenges on school boards that are financial, operational or both."


Trustees approved the 2022-23 school year calendar, as presented.


The next agenda item was the Canadian Union of Provincial Employees (CUPE) Agreement Ratification. Trustees approved the action item.


Trustees also approved the Bus Driver Liaison Committee Recommendations. This included updating the school bus driver cell phone allowance, bus plug-in flat rate, increasing the wheelchair stipend, adding a school bus driver washroom to C.J. Schurter School (location of school bus compound in Slave Lake), notifying drivers of vacant positions, and adjusting the internal processes for school bus drivers who are claiming meal allowances.


Trustees then discussed the third-party user transportation rates/fees. The proposed rates for third party bus contracting, effective immediately, are as follows:

  • School Bus Rentals - $1.85/Km plus $29/hour Driver Rate plus Meals & Accommodation plus $29/hour unit clean
  • Coach Rental - $1.95/Km plus $29/hour Driver Rate plus Meals & Accommodation plus $29/hour unit clean.


The Board approved the contribution to the High Prairie Traditional Pow Wow in the amount of $2,000. This is in compliance with Administrative Procedure 515 - Donations on Behalf of the School Division. As in previous years, students from HPSD are welcomed and honoured at the event. It is also where Indigenous students are honoured with a dance and a blanket.


Trustees approved Cara Haubrich from C.J. Schurter School as the HPSD candidate for the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) 2022 Edwin Parr Teacher Award. The other two candidates for the award were Ryan Haines from Roland Michener Secondary School and Meagan Aubin from École Routhier School.


The Board then discussed and approved that a letter is sent to the Minister of Health and the Minister of Education, as well as other provincial associations, stating concerns regarding vaping companies targeting youth with flavoured and colourful vaping products with a request that government bring in legislation to prevent marketing that is directed towards youth.


Trustees received and accepted the Finance report.


The Employee Recognition Committee provided an update in the standing committee reports section. The Board approved the recommendations presented to have the 2022 Long Service Awards held in person in the central location of Ward 2 and to maintain the long service recipient award values that were put in place at the March 18, 2018, Regular Board Meeting and that retirees continue to receive a personalized recognition gift selected by the Board of Trustees as per Administrative Procedure 404 - Long Service Awards. The meeting then returned to closed for the remainder of the agenda items.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.