Justin Miller Nominated for Zone 1 Edwin Parr Award

Justin Miller Nominated for Zone 1 Edwin Parr Award
Posted on 04/30/2021
Justin Miller Nominated for Zone 1 Edwin Parr Award

High Prairie School Division is proud to announce Justin Miller as our zone candidate for the 2021 Edwin Parr award. The Edwin Parr award is given to a first-year teacher who goes above and beyond in the duties normally expected of a teacher. 


"Justin is a talented teacher. He creates an open and respectful environment with ease, plans thoughtfully and knows his material. He surpasses expectations of criteria in the TQS and is impressive to observe. However, that is not what sets him apart. Justin thinks about solving problems in a creative way. When students struggle, he gets to the core of the issue quickly and gives insightful solutions that are both compassionate and practical. He thinks deeply about the future of music in rural schools and has passion for the longevity of music and band programs in public education settings. Therefore, he created performance opportunities via technology and the local radio station, expanded the program to include bucket drumming, boomwhackers, strings, and other percussive instrument ensembles, and delivered the gift of music education to as many students from as many diverse backgrounds as possible." stated Pam Heckbert, Principal of Georges P. Vanier School.


"Justin's demeanour is always calm, firm, patient, and warm. He is the rock of the classroom, consistent and even-tempered. His expectations are clear, and his environment is always calm and in control. He has worked hard to create a culture of respect and dignity. He has created a community among the learners in the room. He always encourages leadership by allowing students to be the conductors. He gives his students a voice in his classroom. He is very organized and well-planned but is able to divert from the lesson with ease, if necessary. He has very natural instincts in the classroom and is a very intuitive teacher. He employs several universal supports, and he works hard to develop a relationship with his students. He always groups kids effectively so students feel safe and can take a risk. He wants every student to be successful in his classroom." said Assistant Superintendent Treva Emter.


The other teachers identified for the nomination were Nathan Smith of Joussard School, Jamie Green of E.G. Wahlstrom School, Doudou Zhang of Kinuso School, and Sara McKenna of E.W. Pratt School. 


High Prairie School Division would like to applaud all candidates for this prestigious award. Congratulations to Justin Miller as our zone candidate for the Alberta School Boards Association 2021 Edwin Parr Teacher Award.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.