2019 ASBA Friends of Education and Edwin Parr Awards Banquet

2019 ASBA Friends of Education and Edwin Parr Awards Banquet
Posted on 09/18/2019
2019 ASBA Friends of Education and Edwin Parr Awards BanquetFOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Peace River, Alberta – Trustees and members from Executive Council attended the 2019 ASBA Friends of Education and Edwin Parr Awards Banquet in Peace River on September 11th. High Prairie School Division was pleased to announce New Horizon Co-op Manager Ryan Roy in Falher as the Division’s award recipient. Ward 1 Trustee Karin Scholl delivered the following statement of support for Roy’s nomination:

Ryan and staff at New Horizon Co-op have assisted Ecole Routhier in the development and sustainability of a universal nutrition project. At the outset of the project, HPSD was aware that partnerships had to be developed within the community in order for the Nutrition in School pilot project to be implemented. Ryan and staff at New Horizon Co-op immediately stepped up and demonstrated a heartfelt concern over the nutrition concerns of the students at Ecole Routhier. They have consistently worked with the school to ensure that hungry students have access to a nutritious lunch.

Ecole Routhier School has an exceptional partnership with Ryan and the staff of the New Horizon Co-op. They have worked to support the school and division by ordering items that are on sale and reduced costs to meet the needs of our nutrition program. Co-op staff display a willingness to work with the school on various projects whether it be to support us with the calculation of quantities, ordering specific items, or finding us the most nutritional brand. Through their support and extraordinary effort, we have been able to offer our students a well-balanced nutritional lunch at a reasonable cost. As well, students have had opportunities to learn about meal planning as they help prepare and cook monthly lunches, all the while using literacy and numeracy skills as they read the recipes, estimate, and measure quantities required. These opportunities and skills extend well beyond the school as they give students the confidence and skills to problem solve, meal plan and take risks to expand their palate and try new things.

HPSD Mentor Coach Corinna Horsman delivered a speech for the Division’s Edwin Parr nominee Krystin Morin of École Routhier School in Falher. Krystin’s nomination was announced in the spring of 2019. The Edwin Parr award is given to a first-year teacher who goes above and beyond in the duties normally expected of a teacher.

High Prairie School Division would like to congratulate all nominees for their hard work and dedication to quality education.


click here for printable pdf
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.